Supreme Court Seal
South Carolina
Site Map | Feedback
2006-08-04-01 (Superseded by Order 2012-03-28-01)

The Supreme Court of South Carolina

Re: County Court Security Committees


This Order supersedes the Order of the Chief Justice dated August 31, 2005.

Pursuant to the provisions of S. C. CONST. Art. V, ยง 4,

IT IS ORDERED THAT each county shall establish a standing Court Security Committee to address courthouse security concerns. Each county committee will be co-chaired by a Judge (appointed by the Chief Justice), Sheriff and the County Clerk of Court. The committee members shall include at a minimum the Chief Magistrate, a Chief of Police, Solicitor, Public Defender and Emergency Preparedness Manager.

Each Court Security Committee shall be responsible for performing a security audit of each building where court is held. A comprehensive checklist has been provided to each committee to perform the assessment. The committee will also be responsible for developing a local security plan by October 30, 2006, for every facility where court is held utilizing the Standard Operating Procedures as a guideline. The following judges shall co-chair the respective county security committee:

The First Judicial Circuit:
Calhoun The Hon. James C. Williams, Jr.
Dorchester The Hon. Diane Schafer Goodstein
Orangeburg The Hon. Anne Gue Jones
The Second Judicial Circuit:
Aiken The Hon. Doyet A. Early, III
Bamberg The Hon. Doyet A. Early, III
Barnwell The Hon. Dale Moore Gable
The Third Judicial Circuit:
Clarendon The Hon. R. Ferrell Cothran, Jr.
Lee The Hon. George M. McFaddin, Jr.
Sumter The Hon. William Jeffrey Young
Williamsburg The Hon. Clifton Newman
The Fourth Judicial Circuit:
Chesterfield The Hon. Roger E. Henderson
Darlington The Hon. J. Michael Baxley
Dillon The Hon. James E. Lockemy
Marlboro The Hon. Edward B. Cottingham
The Fifth Judicial Circuit:
Kershaw The Hon. J. Ernest Kinard, Jr.
Richland The Hon. G. Thomas Cooper, Jr.
The Sixth Judicial Circuit:
Chester The Hon. Brian M. Gibbons
Fairfield The Hon. Kenneth G. Goode
Lancaster The Hon. Brooks P. Goldsmith
The Seventh Judicial Circuit:
Cherokee The Hon. Wesley L. Brown
Spartanburg The Hon. J. Derham Cole
The Eighth Judicial Circuit:
Abbeville The Hon. Joseph W. McGowan, III
Greenwood The Hon. Billy A. Tunstall, Jr.
Laurens The Hon. James W. Johnson, Jr.
Newberry The Hon. John M. Rucker
The Ninth Judicial Circuit:
Berkeley The Hon. R. Markely Dennis, Jr.
Charleston The Hon. Deadra L. Jefferson
The Tenth Judicial Circuit:
Anderson The Hon. J. C. Nicholson, Jr.
Oconee The Hon. Alexander S. Macaulay
The Eleventh Judicial Circuit:
Edgefield The Hon. William P. Keesley
Lexington The Hon. R. Knox McMahon
McCormick The Hon. William P. Keesley
Saluda The Hon. C. David, Jr. Sawyer
The Twelfth Judicial Circuit:
Florence The Hon. Arthur E. Morehead, III
Marion The Hon. Mary E. Buchan
The Thirteenth Judicial Circuit:
Greenville The Hon. Edward W. Miller
Pickens The Hon. G. Edward Welmaker
The Fourteenth Judicial Circuit:
Allendale The Hon. Perry M. Buckner
Beaufort The Hon. Jane D. Fender
Colleton The Hon. Perry M. Buckner
Hampton The Hon. Gerald C. Smoak, Jr.
Jasper The Hon. Robert S. Armstrong
The Fifteenth Judicial Circuit:
Georgetown The Hon. Paula H. Thomas
Horry The Hon. John Breeden, Jr.
The Sixteenth Judicial Circuit:
Union The Hon. Robert E. Guess
York The Hon. John C. Hayes, III

The State Court Administrator in coordination with the State Law Enforcement Division shall provide additional guidance to facilitate the process.


  s/Jean Hoefer Toal
Jean Hoefer Toal, Chief Justice

Columbia, S.C.
August 4, 2006