May 24, 1991
|TO:||Summary Court Judges
|FROM:||Robert L. McCurdy, Staff Attorney
|RE:||Size and Weight Citation and Notice of Assessment|
The South Carolina Department of Highways and Public Transportation has issued a new size and weight citation and notice of assessment, (See FORMS section of the Bench Book), to be used for charging offenders of size and weight guidelines. Fines range from $25 to $800 for gross weight violations, and up to $100 (and/or 30 days) for axle weight violations. All fines are to be distributed by the county treasurers to the Highway Department. Pursuant to S.C. Code Ann. § 56-5-4160(E), the offenses are triable in summary courts and these new citations should begin surfacing there very soon.
A procedure for the handling of proceeds from these violations has not been fully developed at this time. We will advise you of a permanent procedure upon its completion. In the interim, please list all such violations and dispositions on a separate traffic docket sheet. Immediately forward this sheet and receipts to your county treasurer, who should then remit the fines and fees and a copy of the docket sheet to the following address:
S.C. Department of Highways and Public Transportation
Size and Weight Division
Post Office Box 191
Columbia, South Carolina 29202
Please do not hesitate to contact our office if you have questions concerning this matter.