Supreme Court Seal
South Carolina
Site Map | Feedback
Court News

Swearing-In Ceremony for New Judges Held in Spartanburg

A swearing-in ceremony for Don Beatty and Mark Hayes was held June 20, 2003 at the Spartanburg County courthouse.  S.C. Supreme Court Chief Justice Jean H. Toal administered the oath of office to Beatty, who was elected to succeed retiring Judge Jasper Cureton on the S.C. Court of Appeals.  Prior to his election to the Court of Appeals, Beatty was a resident judge in the 7th judicial circuit of Spartanburg and Cherokee counties.  Judge Beatty was a member of the House of Representatives from 1991 until 1995. 

Supreme Court Associate Justice E.C. Burnett, III administered the oath of office to Hayes who succeeds Gary E. Clary.  Prior to his election, Hayes was a partner in the Spartanburg law firm of Harrison White Smith Hayes & Coggins.  Judge Hayes also served as an advisor to Union County's school board in legal matters and represented four of Spartanburg County's school districts and the S.C. School for the Deaf and the Blind.